Travis Guedes Memorial Bursary

The Fire Prevention Officers’ Association Of British Columbia (FPOABC) offers a $1000 bursary to students who are relatives of members of our Association who are furthering their education in a post secondary institution.  Applications will be accepted starting January of every year.  

Who is eligible?

Relatives of FPOABC members in good standing, or relatives of deceased members of our Association, or retired members of our Association, or honorary members of our Association. Definition of a relative: a son, a daughter, a stepson, stepdaughter, or grandchild. Previous recipients of this bursary are not eligible.

1. Bursary Application form
2. essay outlining future goals
3. essay outlining volunteer contributions to your school and community
4. handwritten essay explaining why you believe that you deserve this bursary

The successful recipient will be chosen by the Bursary Committee. Applicants must have a “B” grade average or GPA equivalent. Copies of the grade standing (most recent) must be included with bursary application. Consideration will be given when a “B” average or GPA equivalent is not achievable. Deadline for the receipt of applications will be April 15th of the year the bursary is to be awarded.

The Bursary Committee will take their recommendation to the executive meeting held prior to the AGM. The ultimate decision will be left to the executive. Bursary recipient will be announced at the AGM and the bursary will be presented at the recipient’s school if possible.

Bursary applications to be sent to:

Bursary Committee
c/o Administrative Assistant
Fire Prevention Officers’ Association
916 Skeena Drive
Kelowna, BC  V1V 2B3

Congratulations to Kaelyn Abrahamson –
co-recipient of the 2024 Travis Guedes Memorial Bursary

Congratulations to Haylee Guedes –
co-recipient of the 2024 Travis Guedes Memorial Bursary

Congratulations to Shayla Grewal – recipient of the 2023 Travis Guedes Memorial Bursary

2022 – Mark Short (no photo)

2021 – Ivy Calder

2020 – Ciarra Van Dop

2019 – Kennedy Walker

2018 – Giuliana D’Agostino

2017 – Grace Owens

2016 – Alyssa Graeme
Shopping Cart